APSP has announced the winner of the 2015 Dr. R. Neil Lowry Memorial Grant. This year's prestigious award was presented to the Columbus Health Department, Environmental Health Division, Columbus, OH at the National Environmental Health Association Conference July 13.
Keith L. Krinn, Environmental Health Division Administrator with the Columbus Health Department, accepted the award from Jody O’Grady, Vice President of Sales Operations and Support at Taylor Technologies, Inc., and member of the APSP Recreational Water Quality (RWQ) Committee.

The $5,000 grant honors and recognizes public health officials who have made outstanding contributions to advance the public’s healthy and safe use of recreational water. Recreational water includes pools, spas, hot tubs, natural waters, and water parks.
The award is given in the memory of Dr. R. Neil Lowry, a long-time member of APSP’s RWQ Committee, who influenced the pool and spa industry for more than 25 years as a consultant to government and private industry. 

"We are truly honored and humbled by the recognition associated with the Dr. R. Neil Lowry Grant,” said Krinn. “The credit for the recognition goes out to our field staff, the backbone of our Water Protection Program, where the interface with our customers takes place. Also, the success of our recreational water protection effort would not be realized without our partnerships with our community, the regulated industry and especially our own Columbus Board of Health,” he added.

The Department will use the grant to facilitate an expansion of its educational outreach using innovative methods to reach recreational water venue operators. “The desired outreach to our nearly 800 licensed water recreation venues will be realized by specifically creating a recreational water operator training course available on a portable flash drive along with tutorial video vignettes highlighting more complex subject matter illustrated by nationally-certified instructors,” Krinn said.

“Understanding that budgets are tight, APSP is looking to share this award winning training program with other public health departments throughout the country who are seeking new, innovative ideas on how to train pool operators,” said Carvin DiGiovanni, APSP Vice President, Technical & Standards.

Past winners of the Dr. R. Neil Lowry Memorial Grant include the Middlesex-London Health Unit, Ontario, 2014; Brevard County Environmental Health Services Dept., 2013; Sacramento County Environmental Management Dept., 2012; Alexandria, Va., Health Dept., 2011; City of Houston, 2010; and Plano, Texas, 2009.

In addition to soliciting entries from public health officials each year for the Dr. R. Neil Lowry Memorial Grant, APSP’s Recreational Water Quality Committee develops and maintains verifiable science-based information regarding sanitization technology and chemical products, for use in pools, spas and hot tubs. The committee also writes the ANSI/APSP-11 Standard for Water Quality in Public Pools and Spas and the chemical and sanitation sections for all of the ANSI/APSP standards. To receive the RWQ Newsletter, email memberservices@apsp.org.  For more information about the Dr. R. Neil Lowry Grant, visit APSP.org.